Fashion Designer Samuel Xun On Jokes

“Good fashion is irony”

@marcuzzzy
3 min readSep 7, 2019
Courtesy: @samuelxun

Why fashion?

Loved naming obscure fashion brands, art. Was a defence mechanism, aspiration, arrogant way to “weed out weak.” Never like predictability.

With Project Runway, fashion was relatable; Lady Gaga, anything could be fashion. Discovered courses, careers. It became an actual journey.

Identity.

Someone said good fashion is irony; I like childlike concepts, create memorable looks; am asking myself why.

I love Comme not because of Rei’s aesthetic, but how she thinks.

It used to be more about artistic spirit, extension, installation. Only recently I’ve thought of the body, business. When I look at shows, I see shapes, silhouettes, drama; translate an avant garde idea into something wearable. A smartness I aspire towards.

It’s always good to talk about social issues. Be ironic, not pretentious.

I’m fun, humorous, beautiful!

“Modesty.”

Inspired by a face mask children’s book, vintage mask artist Michael Grater.

Touched on religious dressing a little: it talks about covering up, you don’t see face, anything above wrists, ankles. The tulle is see-through, face on the outside.

Courtesy: @samuelxun

“Indigo.”

It has a long, serious history. I like Chinese pots, which have long history too. I’m Chinese. There were hidden meanings in the Mask dress that I grew tired of explaining. I decided, I just want to do Chinese pots.

Courtesy: @samuelxun

As a group project, I had twoo comms students to help create links, depth to concept. Bauhaus helped move me past looking superficially at pots and dresses: ornamental vs utilitarian.

Design and current affairs.

I understand what’s going on, but I can’t help.

Looking at obscure references helps with originality. It’s not so direct.

I like Schiaparelli (newly under Daniel Roseberry, formerly from Thom Browne), Bottega Mens (newly under Daniel Lee, formerly from Celine), Loewe (under Jonathan Anderson).

I like asking my comms friends what/how good images work.

Fashion design IRL.

Love my friend Jenny’s label, Jeamie.

Courtesy: @jeamie_co

We should ditch “Singaporean.” Not that I don’t love Singapore. Singaporeans aren’t keen on supporting local design. And, what is Singaporean?

I slightly hate luxury now. That’s where all the money is. It’s not democratic. Recent “street style” meant to exude “democratic” fashion doesn’t add up.

Ecommerce, decline of fast fashion give room for design.

--

--